Employment Update

As I mentioned in an earlier post, employment has been on my mind a lot lately. I’ve been looking semi-seriously for a job for a couple months now, and the grind was getting old – until Thursday, when I got two job offers in the same day. At first, I had a hard time deciding between the two – good problem to have, I know – but, in the end I just went with the one that “felt” better in my gut. The downsides are: 1) I’m going to be working with an off-shore development team, which means I’ll be working until around 7pm most days. Not a huge problem, but it does cut into family time a little bit. 2) I’m sticking with project management, even though I swore I was going to take a break from it. I think it’ll make my transition back into the working world a little easier, though, because I’ll be doing something familiar. 3) It’s a longer commute than the other job would have been, but since I won’t start until 10am, and it’s a reverse commute, anyway, it probably won’t be a big issue. 20 – 30 minutes. Manageable. 4) I won’t be able to sit around all day and read, write, think about writing, stalk other blogs, etc. That’s the thing I’m going to miss most. But, that doesn’t come with a paycheck, so back to work I go. Who knows, maybe I’ll get some interesting material to write about, as I’ll have a whole new cast of characters to work with. I start on the 19th, so I have two weeks of freedom left. I’m going to try to make the most of them!

8 thoughts on “Employment Update

  1. Also, on the bright side, think of all the new books you’ll be able to buy! I remember my stint of unemployment several years ago when the economy first started tanking. Looking back on my work pre and post unemployment, I can say that work gave me a little more motivation to write. The more you’re doing in a traditional job the more it seems writing for a living would be a great deal more fun. You never know, the people and situations of the working world can be a fantastic fuel to kick off a project or two. At any rate, best of luck sir!

  2. Congratulations! and yes…the best material comes from life experiences and the people we meet. Good luck on your new job;-)

Leave a Reply

